Europeana Research Grants Programme 2018: Call for Submissions

Theme: The First World War – deadline 5 October 2018

The eligible projects must:

  • Focus on the First World War theme
  • Use openly licensed Europeana content, including but not limited to the Europeana 1914-1918 Collection
  • Apply digital tools and digital humanities methods to address their specific research topic

Projects based at institutions that are Europeana DSI-4 project partners are NOT eligible for this call.

Applicants are invited to explore the Europeana 1914-1918 Collection and to submit projects that are transnational in scope.

The collection hosts 400,000 items aggregated from Europeana partner libraries, archives and museums, including over 600 hours of video, alongside 200,000 items of content contributed by individuals both online and during the 200+ collection days.

The community collection days, organised by Europeana and other institutions throughout Europe, invited people to share their stories and objects from the First World War, which were then digitised by professional archivists.

Applicants are also invited to explore the selection of newspapers from the First World War period in the Europeana platform, which offers over 20,000 openly licensed records.


  • Europeana 1914-1918 thematic collection
  • Most relevant queries regarding historical sources: Newspapers, Photographs Collections, Maps. 
  • Guidance on searching Europeana Collections
  • Europeana APIs and technical support via the API forum
  • Europeana Blog


The Research Grants Programme is intended for early career scholars of all nationalities and in any field of the humanities. They must have a particular interest in cultural heritage and take a digital humanities approach.

Applicants must hold a PhD, with no more than seven years of experience after the completion of their PhD. With duly justified exceptions, their projects must be hosted by institutions, e.g. a university, a research centre, a library lab or a museum, working in one of the European Union Member States.

Find further information here